What are the categories of Amateur Radio License in India

Gone are the days,when we had multiple categories of licenses. We used to apply forthe Shortwave Listener’s License to keep a communication receiver for monitoring HAM bandsbeforeupgrading to an Amateur Radio Operator’slicense, which allows to work amateur radio bands on various modes, viz., CW, Voice, Telegraph or Digital.

Following were FOUR categories of licences:-

  1. SWL (Shortwave Listeners’ License, allowed only to monitor the radio frequency in amateur bands).
  2. Grade II (Restriction of power was there plus one had to make 100 CW contacts and then only, was allowed to use voice after getting the licence)
  3. Grade I (Restriction of power was there but was allowed to go on air through voice immediately after getting the licence)
  4. Advance Grade (No restriction of power and can go on air immediately after getting the licence).

Today,to encourage this dying hobby,WPC reduced the number of categories of License to only TWO, which are as follows:

  1. Restricted Grade (morse code is not required)
  2. General Grade (morse code with speed of 8wpm)

One has to pass a written exam to get the licence for Restricted or General grade.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *